

# City of San José Station Area Advisory Group (SAAG)

## **MEETING MINUTES**

April 14, 2021

### I. Call to Order & Orders of the Day

#### Roll Call

PRESENT: Members: Dan Mountsier, Susan Lanza, Kelly Doyle, Melissa Reggiardo,

Kathy Sutherland, Kevin L. Christman, Marla Weinstein, Kiyomi Yamamoto, Harvey Darnell, Rev Ray, Erica Carr, Nathan Ulsh, Bill Souders, Ahoura Zandiatashbar, Charlie Faas, Jean Cohen, Glen Williams, Melissa Cerenzo, Jon Gustafson, Edward Saum, Jason Baker, Jean Cohen, Fred Buzo, Laura Winter, Maria Noel Fernandez, David Meyer, Jeffrey Buchanan, Sondra Weber, and

Rob Rennie

ABSENT: Members: Adobe Systems, Greenbelt Alliance, Minority Business Consortium,

Lofts on the Alameda, San Jose Downtown Residents Association #2 (Renter) \*, San Jose Unified School District, Santa Clara Valley Water District, and

The Silicon Valley Organization

STAFF: Lori Severino – Diridon Program Manager; Nanci Klein – Director of

Economic Development; Bill Ekern – Diridon Project Manager, OED,

Rosalynn Hughey – Deputy City Manager; Robert Manford – Deputy Director, PBCE; Tim Rood – Planning Division Manager, PBCE; John Tu – Planner IV, PBCE; James Han – Planner II, PBCE; Jacky Morales-Ferrand – Director of Housing; Rachel Vanderveen – Deputy Director, Housing; Jessica Zenk – Transportation Deputy Director; Eric Eidlin – Station Planning Manager, Department of Transportation; Nicolle Burnham – Deputy Director, Parks, Recreation and Neighborhood Services; Lori Mitchell/Matt Cano – District Systems; Dave Javid and Suhaila Sikand, Plan to Place; Judith Tayor/Thomas Jansen – HR&A Advisors; A-P Hurd – Skipstone; and Matt Raimi/Diana

Benitez, Raimi and Associates

#### Call to Order and Orders of the Day

Dave Javid convened the Station Area Advisory Group at 6:05 p.m. on the Zoom webinar. The Spanish and Vietnamese interpreters made an announcement stating that the SAAG meeting is available in both Spanish and Vietnamese.

### I. Welcome and Introductions

Nanci Klein welcomed everyone to the meeting and went over the meeting agenda.

# **II.** Meeting Minutes

Dave Javid asked for motion to approve the minutes from the last SAAG meeting on November 9, 2020.

Action: Upon a motion by SAAG Member Edward Saum, seconded by SAAG Member Jason Baker and carried, the SAAG members approved the meeting minutes for November 9, 2020. Absent Members: Adobe Systems, Greenbelt Alliance, Minority Business Consortium, Lofts on the Alameda, San Jose Downtown Residents Association #2 (Renter) \*, San Jose Unified School District, Santa Clara Valley Water District, and The Silicon Valley Organization.

Documents Filed: Meeting Minutes and Meeting Summary for SAAG Meeting on November 9, 2020.

# III. General Process and Community Engagement Update

Lori Severino reported the process update on the Community Engagement Process. She discussed a map of the major projects impacting the Diridon Station Area. Lori also discussed a summary of our former Community Engagement events, and upcoming meetings and engagement opportunities.

# IV. Downtown West Project Development Agreement

Rosalynn Hughey, Nanci Klein, Rachel Vanderveen, Nicolle Burnham, and Jessica Zenk presented an overview of the Downtown West Project.

The particular topics includes the following information:

- Background context on the project, engagement process, the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the City and Google, and City Council direction.
- Summaries of what the Development Agreement says about: affordable housing; economic opportunity; parks and open space; transportation; environmental sustainability; and key business terms
- Overview of the Community Benefits Plan, including the overall value, timing, and relationship to other project benefits.
- Details on the Community Stabilization and Opportunity Pathways Fund, including its intended uses and the structure for its administration.

Following the presentation, each SAAG member was given an opportunity to provide comments and questions in a round robin.

#### V. Public Comment

The following people made comments to the SAAG: Paul Soto, Gavin Lohry, Roland L., Corey Smith, Mich Imokawa and Blair Beekman.

# VI. Adjournment

Dave Javid and Nanci Klein made some closing comments. He adjourned the meeting at 8:20 p.m.

Nanci Klein
Director of Economic Development

ATTEST:

Station Area Advisory Group Secretary

Tara Reid, Executive Assistant