

Redistricting Commission City of San José MINUTES https://sanjoseca.zoom.us/j/98251071920 6:00 PM Monday, February 22, 2021

<u>Present</u>: Chair- Teresa Alvarado; Members- Sylvia Alvarez, Jonathan Bruns, Enedina Cardenas, Daisy Castro, Andrew Ditlevsen, B J Fadem, Ramon Martinez (6:35 p.m.), Freddie W. Sidbury Jr., Kaitlyn Tran, Lenka Wright

Absent: None

<u>Staff:</u> Megan Roche, Legislative Secretary; Toni J. Taber, City Clerk; Mark Vanni, Senior Deputy City Attorney

I. Call to Order & Orders of the Days

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

a) Introductions—No Action

Chair Alvarado provided an introduction, detailing the purpose of the Redistricting Commission. Commissioners introduced themselves.

II. Public Record- None

III. Consent Calendar- None

IV. Reports & Information

a) Brown Act Training-no action

The City Clerk gave a Brown Act training presentation to the Commission.

<u>Public Comment</u>: Blair Beekman advocated for better open public policies with respect to technology and mentioned that the "SAAG" (Station Area Advisory Group) Brown Act rules may offer a good framework for the Redistricting Commission.

- V. Public Hearing- None
- VI. Old Business- None
- VII. New Business

a) Appointment of Vice-Chair-action item

Commissioner Cardenas nominated herself for the position of Vice Chair. The nomination was seconded by Commissioner Fadem.

<u>Action</u>: The Commission voted unanimously to elect Commissioner Cardenas as Vice Chair. (10-0-1 Absent: Martinez)

VIII. Public Comment

1. Blair Beekman wished the Commission good luck and encouraged their open-minded thinking moving forward.

IX. Meeting Schedule and Agenda Items

b) Set next meeting date and time-action item.

The Commission agreed to tentatively schedule regular monthly meetings on Thursdays at 6:00 p.m., awaiting confirmation of availability from City staff.

X. Adjournment

The Commission adjourned at 6:43 p.m.

× Megan Roche Merran Roche(megan.roche@sanjoseca.gov) (4/1/2021)

Prepared by: Megan Roche, Deputy City Clerk

× Teresa Alvarado (4/1/2)

Teresa Alvarado Chair, Redistricting Commission