STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 942849 SACRAMENTO, CA 94249-0025 (916) 319-2025 FAX (916) 319-2125 DISTRICT OFFICE 1313 N. MILPITAS BOULEVARD, SUITE 255 MILPITAS, CA 95035 (408) 282-2501 FAX (408) 262-2512





COMMITTEES REVENUE AND TAXATION TRANSPORTATION WATER, PARKS, AND WILDLIFE

SELECT COMMITTEES CHAIR: HATE CRIMES ASIA/CALIFORNIA THADE AND INVESTMENT PROMOTION SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, AND MATH STATE OF HATE 2028 OLYMPIC AND PARALYMPIC GAMES

APPOINTMENTS COMMISSION ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

June 29, 2020

The Honorable Sam Liccardo Mayor, City of San Jose 200 East Santa Clara Street, 18th Floor San José, CA 95113

RE: Item 3.10 20-809 Potential Ballot Measure to Amend the City Charter.

Dear Mayor Liccardo:

I support the memo by Councilmembers Magdalena Carrasco and Maya Esparza to align districts with the lowest voter turnout with the Presidential election to give people of color representation and a voice. More people vote in the Presidential election, which would increase voter turnout for these elections. East San José and the downtown districts are the poorest and most challenged, and have less than one-third of the voter turnout compared to the more affluent areas of San José. Of those who are voting, the population is usually older, wealthier and white.

If we do not align the Council elections to the Presidential election, communities of color, young people, LGBTQ citizens and low-income residents who are disproportionately burdened by policies impacting housing, homelessness, open spaces, education, and transportation, will continue to have their voices tampered in the current system.

I urge you to support the alignment of the Council elections with the Presidential election in 2024 contained within the memo authored by Councilmembers Carrasco and Esparza.

Thank you for your time and consideration. Please contact my office with any questions at (408) 262-2501.

Sincerely,

KANSEN CHU Assemblymember, 25th District

Cc: Vice Mayor Charles "Chappie" Jones, District 1 Councilmember Sergio Jimenez, District 2 Councilmember Raul Peralez, District 3 Councilmember Lan Diep District 4 Councilmember Magdalena Carrasco, District 5 Councilmember Devora "Dev" Davis, District 6 Councilmember Maya Esparza, District 7 Councilmember Sylvia Arenas, District 8 Councilmember Pam Foley, District 9 Councilmember Johnny Khamis, District 10