RULES COMMITTEE AGENDA12/5/2018 ITEM: F.1.a



TO: Rules and Open Government Committee Memorandum

FROM: Mayor Sam Liccardo

SUBJECT:	WORK2FUTURE BOARD	DATE: November 28, 2018	
APPROVED:	Jan Juil a	11/28/18	

RECOMMENDATION

Receive a report on the Mayor's reappointment of the following members to the work2future Board for a four-year term from October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2022:

- 1. Rose Amador Le Beau, President/CEO, ConXion to Community;
- 2. Louise Auerhahn, Director of Economic & Workforce Policy, Working Partnerships, USA;
- 3. John Estill, Lecturer in Economics, San Jose State University;
- 4. Susan Koepp-Baker, Principal, Enviro-Tech Services;
- 5. Van Le, Agent, State Farm Insurance;
- 6. Pamela Moore, Team Manager, Staff Services Manager I, California Department of Rehabilitation; and
- 7. Steve Preminger, Director, Office of Strategic and Intergovernmental Relations, County of Santa Clara.

BACKGROUND

Section 107(c) of the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) authorizes the Mayor, as the chief elected official of the San Jose Silicon Valley Workforce Development Area, to appoint the members of the work2future Board. The above individual(s) are reappointed to a term ending September 30, 2022. There are no term limits on the work2future Board. Since the Rules and Open Government Committee's policy area includes appointments to boards and commissions under the Council Rules of Conduct resolution, this report is being provided to the Rules Committee as an informational memo.



Memorandum

TO: HONORABLE MAYOR

FROM: Kim Walesh

SUBJECT: SEE BELOW

DATE: November 13, 2018

Approved

Date

SUBJECT: WORK2FUTURE BOARD NOMINATIONS

The Mayor of the City of San Jose, as the local Chief Elected Official (CEO) under the 2014 Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), is responsible for establishing the membership and structure of the Local Workforce Development Board (WDB) for the San Jose-Silicon Valley Local Workforce Development Area. The WDB, known as the work2future Board of Directors, shall consist of board members appointed by the CEO such that a majority of the local board membership is representative of business and private industry.

Until September 30, 2018, the work2future WDB membership roster had 22 board members: 9 public sector and 13 business/private industry representatives. Seven of those members were appointed in September 2015 for three-year, short terms as part of the establishment of the first WDB under WIOA, which was implemented in 2015. To allow for staggered terms on the WDB, other members were appointed to four-year terms.

Staff recommends that those seven individuals be reappointed for full four-year terms on the work2future Board of Directors. They are: Rose Amador Le Beau, President/CEO, ConXion to Community; Louise Auerhahn, Director of Economic & Workforce Policy, Working Partnerships, USA; John Estill, Lecturer in Economics, San Jose State University; Susan Koepp-Baker, Principal, Enviro-Tech Services; Van Le, Agent, State Farm Insurance; Pamela Moore, Team Manager, Staff Services Manager I, California Department of Rehabilitation; and Steve Preminger, Director, Office of Strategic and Intergovernmental Relations, County of Santa Clara.

Kim Walesh Deputy City Manager Director of Economic Development

cc: Monique Melchor, work2future Director Joe Flynn, work2future Board Chair Lawrence Thoo, Special Projects Manager, work2future