

Memorandum

TO:

CITY COUNCIL

FROM:

Mayor Sam Liccardo

SUBJECT:

CITY COUNCIL

DATE:

December 18, 2017

COMMITTEE AND BOARD

AND COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

APPROVED:

12/18/17

RECOMMENDATION

- 1. Apprise the Council of the Mayor's Appointments for each of the standing committees, as described in Exhibit "A" of this Memorandum.
- 2. Appoint the following councilmembers to each of the committees and assignments, as described in Exhibit "B" of this Memorandum.

DISCUSSION

The following provides my appointments to Committees and Commissions for 2018.

EXHIBIT A

2017-2018 City Council Standing Committee & AD-HOC Committee Appointments

	Chair	Vice Chair	Member	Member	Member
Rules	Liccardo	Carrasco	Jones	Khamis	Davis
Public Safety, Finance, & Strategy Support	Peralez	Jones	Carrasco	Arenas	Jimenez
Transportation & Environment	Carrasco	Nguyen	Jimenez	Diep	Arenas
Community & Economic Development	Khamis	Davis	Diep	Peralez	Rocha
Neighborhood Services & Education	Rocha	Arenas	Nguyen	Peralez	Jimenez
Smart City and Innovation	Jones	Diep	Davis	Liccardo	Khamis
AD-HOC Committee for Development Services	Khamis	Liccardo	Arenas	Peralez	Davis

EXHIBIT B

2018 Council Appointments

Board, Commission or Committee	Position	Appointee
ABAG – Executive Board		Diep
ABAG – Executive Board		Jimenez
ABAG – Executive Board		Peralez
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Arenas
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Nguyen
ABAG – Executive Board	Alternate	Khamis
ABAG – General Assembly Delegate		Jimenez
Airport Commission	Liaison	Peralez
Appeals Hearing Board	Liaison	Arenas
Arts Commission	Liaison	Carrasco
Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee	Liaison	Jimenez
Caltrain Centralized Equipment Maintenance & Operations Facilities Oversight Committee		Davis
Caltrain Joint Powers Board		Davis
Citizen Corps Council	Chair	Nguyen
Citizen Corps Council	Vice Chair	Rocha
Civil Service Commission	Liaison	Khamis
Clean Energy Community Advisory Commission	Liaison	Jimenez
Deferred Compensation Advisory Committee	Liaison	Khamis
Destination: Home		Liccardo
Downtown Parking Board	Liaison	Peralez
Emergency Preparedness Council		Rocha
Ethics Commission		Jones
Expressway Plan 2040 Project Advisory Board		Khamis
Federated Employees Retirement Board	Non-Voting Member	Davis
Grand Boulevard Initiative Task Force		Davis
Habitat Conservation Plan		Jimenez
Historic Landmarks Commission	Liaison	Davis
Housing and Community Development Advisory Committee		Jimenez
Human Services Commission	Liaison	Nguyen
Joint Venture Silicon Valley		Liccardo
League of California Cities		Carrasco
League of California Cities	Alternate	Davis
League of California Cities – Women's Caucus		Davis
Library & Early Education Commission	Liaison	Nguyen
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force	Chair	Liccardo
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force		Peralez
Mayor's Gang Prevention Task Force		Carrasco

Metropolitan Transportation Commission		Liccardo
Neighborhoods Commission	Liaison	Rocha
Parks and Recreation Commission	Liaison	Nguyen
Planning Commission	Liaison	Jimenez
Police and Fire Retirement Board	Non-Voting Member	Khamis
Police Athletic League Board		Nguyen
Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County		Diep
Recycled Water Policy Advisory Committee		Diep
Recycled Water Policy Advisory Committee		Arenas
San José Arena Authority		Davis
San José Arena Authority		Rocha
San José Arena Authority	Mayor's Staff	Simon
San José Sports Authority		Davis
San José Sports Authority		Rocha
Santa Clara County Human Trafficking Commission (HTC)		Rocha
Santa Clara County Human Trafficking Commission (HTC)		Peralez
Santa Clara County Cities Association		Jones
Santa Clara County Cities Association	Alternate	Diep
Santa Clara County Cities Association – Legislative Action Committee		Jones
Santa Clara County Cities Association – City Selection Committee		Jones
Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (formerly Emergency Preparedness Council)		Khamis
Santa Clara County Emergency Operational Area Council (formerly Emergency Preparedness Council)		Rocha
Santa Clara County Fairgrounds Ad hoc Committee		Nguyen
Santa Clara County Health Benefits Coalition		Carrasco
Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation (LAFCO)		Jimenez
Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation (LAFCO)	Alternate	Arenas
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board		Arenas
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board		Rocha
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board	Alternate	Carrasco
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Governing Board	Alternate	Diep
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board		Arenas
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	Alternate	Rocha
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board (staff position)	Staff Alternate	Meenaxi Panakkal
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	VTA Representative	Diep
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Agency Implementation Board	VTA Representative Alternate	Jones
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Liccardo

Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Jones
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Peralez
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Diep
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board		Khamis
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority Board	Alternate	Davis
Santa Clara VTA Board – Policy Advisory Committee		Carrasco
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Diridon Station		Peralez
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Diridon Station		Davis
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Downtown/East Valley Corridor		Arenas
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Downtown/East Valley Corridor		Carrasco
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – El Camino Real Rapid Transit		Davis
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – El Camino Real Rapid Transit	Alternate	Jones
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Silicon Valley Rapid Transit Corridor		Diep
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – Silicon Valley Rapid Transit Corridor	Alternate	Peralez
Santa Clara VTA Policy Advisory Board – SR 85 Corridor		Jimenez
Santa Clara Valley Water District – Water Commission (two year appt)		Diep
Santa Clara Valley Water District – Water Commission (two year appt)	Alternate	Romanow
Schools City Collaborative		Liccardo
Schools City Collaborative		Carrasco
Schools City Collaborative		Arenas
Senior Citizens Commission	Liaison	Khamis
SF Bay Area Regional Water System Financing Authority		Liccardo
SF Bay Area Water Supply and Conservation Agency		Liccardo
Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Project		Rocha
Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Project		Jones
Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Project	Alternate	Jimenez
Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Project	Alternate	Nguyen
SJ/SC Clean Water Financing Authority		Jones
SJ/SC Clean Water Financing Authority		Diep
SJ/SC Clean Water Financing Authority		Jimenez
SJ/SC Treatment Plant Advisory Committee		Diep
SJ/SC Treatment Plant Advisory Committee		Davis
SJ/SC Treatment Plant Advisory Committee		Liccardo
SJ/SC Treatment Plant Advisory Committee	Alternate	Arenas
Smart Cities and Service Improvements Committee	Chair	Jones
Strategic Planning Advisory Board (Therapeutic Services)		Khamis
Team San José/Convention and Visitors Bureau	Liaison	Peralez

West Valley Sanitation District – Sewer Advisory Board		Jones	
Work2future Board		Jones	
Youth Commission	Liaison	Rocha	
Veterans Affairs	Liaison	Khamis	

*