

COUNCIL AGENDA: 9/27/2022 ITEM: 2.18 FILE NO: 22-1463

## Memorandum

**TO:** HONORABLE MAYOR AND

**CITY COUNCIL** 

FROM: Toni J. Taber, CMC

City Clerk

SUBJECT: SEE BELOW DATE: September 27, 202

SUBJECT: City Council Appointment for Vision Zero Task Force

### Recommendation

As recommended by the Rules and Open Government Committee on September 21, 2022:

(a) Appoint Councilmember Foley as Chair of the City's Vision Zero Task Force.

(b) Appoint Councilmember Peralez as Vice Chair of the City's Vision Zero Task Force. CEQA: Not a Project, File No. PP17-010, City Organizational and Administrative Activities resulting in no changes to the physical environment. (Liccardo and Peralez) [Rules Committee referral 9/21/2022 - Item B.3]

RULES COMMITTEE AGENDA: 9/21/2022 ITEM: B.3



# Memorandum

TO: CITY COUNCIL FROM: Mayor Sam Liccardo

Councilmember Raul Peralez

**SUBJECT: CITY COUNCIL DATE:** September 13, 2022

APPOINTMENT FOR VISION ZERO TASK

**FORCE** 

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

- 1. Appoint Councilmember Foley as Chair of the City's Vision Zero Task Force.
- 2. Appoint Councilmember Peralez as Vice Chair of the City's Vision Zero Task Force.

#### **BACKGROUND**:

On February 11, 2020, the City Council formed the Vision Zero Task Force, and appointed Councilmember Peralez as Chair. Councilmember Foley was subsequently appointed as Vice Chair of the Task Force.

Councilmember Peralez, in preparation of his departure from office, has requested that Councilmember Foley be elevated to Chair of the Vision Zero Task Force.

The Task Force, composed of cross agency and sector stakeholders, has convened for the past two years over eight meetings providing invaluable feedback on the City's Vision Zero program. However, considering the past two years continue to have high levels of traffic fatalities, it is critical that we have a seamless transition of leadership for this Task Force so that it can continue its work.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See minutes of the February 11, 2020 City Council meeting, Agenda Item 5.1, available at <a href="https://sanjose.legistar.com/View.ashx?M=M&ID=712176&GUID=94FDE85A-48DB-4DBB-B474-028211F6D7F2">https://sanjose.legistar.com/View.ashx?M=M&ID=712176&GUID=94FDE85A-48DB-4DBB-B474-028211F6D7F2</a>.

August 31, 2022

Subject: Vision Zero Task Force

Page 2

All the members of the Vision Zero Task Force have contributed so much in the past two years. We give special thanks to our Department of Transportation staff who support the Task Force including Jesse Mintz-Roth, Lam Cruz, Thao Nguyen, Anna Le, and Lily Lim-Tsao.

Looking ahead, we are confident that the Task Force will continue to thrive under the leadership of Councilmember Foley. She has demonstrated her commitment to improving the safety of our streets and has the institutional knowledge to ensure the Task Force continues to progress forward to bring our vision of a zero traffic fatalities or injuries closer to fruition.